Final Night

For Howard Spiro M.D., on the eve of his passing

In the darkness of the night,
Blindly, I arise and stumble,
Half asleep, with shoes I fumble,
Pause before the soft blue light
To parse the message in the night.

In the darkness of the night
Groping for my coat, I swag,
Search the corner for my bag,
Pull the door behind me tight,
Step outside into the night.

In the darkness of this night
A waning gibbous moon appears,
As it has through finite years;
It hangs upon the cheek of night,
The Bard’s rich jewel, this silver light.

In the darkness of this night
It questions me with faceless stare
To ask if I might tarry there
To speak a word into the night,
Into the dark, before first light.

In the darkness of the night
The orb embraced by silver shroud
Now slips behind a veil of cloud
Serenely, as it fades from sight
In the silence of the night.

3/12/2012 © Brian T. Maurer

One comment on “Final Night

  1. Richard Adams says:

    Thank you for those beautiful words. I am a Medical Herbalist involved with training students at Middlesex University London, England.I have been writing an article on clinical empathy for the british journal of herbal medicine these past few days and have been stopped in my tracks by the news of Dr. Spiro’s death. I never new the man but your words have helped with my sense of loss.
    Richard Adams

Leave a Reply

