The iCloud of Unknowing

Whenever I access my iPad, a small window appears, informing me that my iPad cannot back up to the iCloud without a valid e-mail address. I am then given two options: either proceed to “Setttings,” or address the issue “Later.” Invariably, I select “Later,” because time is of the essence; and I can’t be bothered with such a distraction at that moment.

Truth be told, I really don’t understand just what the iCloud is, or why I would need to access it. For me, you might call it the “iCloud of Unknowing.”

Of course, I understand that at core the iCloud (or at least my iCloud) is supposed to be a convenient way of synchronizing the data on all of my wireless devices: my iPad, iPod, iPhone, and perhaps my iMac, if I’ve got one. But the burning question on my lips is this: who else has access to all of that data?

Presumably, my data, like everyone else’s data, is password protected, and therefore secure. Over the years we have all learned what that means — any data set is only as secure as the complexity of the password. With time and persistence any hacker worth his salt can theoretically crack the code and gain access.

Jung coined the notion of the collective unconscious, that nebulous zone where all human thought and dreams are housed. In the Jungian economy, the collective unconscious is synonymous with the mind of God.

The early Christian mystics referred to the Cloud of Unknowing, likewise a zone, or perhaps a state of being, in which the presence of God dwelt. The only way to access it was through contemplation, meditation or prayer. Many mystics felt (and feel) that all three are really manifestations of the same thing.

Modern man has little time for such pursuits. The best he can do, the most he can hope for, is to synchronize his data in the iCloud, even if it too turns out to be a virtual iCloud of Unknowing.

Every thought captured and cataloged in the digital realm might one day be part of the iCloud. If so, we would be no closer to ultimate knowledge, no closer to ultimate wisdom, then when we’d first begun; because ultimate wisdom is not housed in the iCloud of facts and figures.

It is housed in the Cloud of Unknowing.

One comment on “The iCloud of Unknowing

  1. Grant Brewin says:

    It is a vast wasteland of digital detritus.
    “Everything is less than zero.”
    – Elvis Costello

Leave a Reply

