Sights & Sounds

Leaning in, I listen.
The whoosh resounds in my ears,
Pulsating with each regular beat,
As though an elf were clearing his throat:
Harsh, holosystolic, grade 4 of 6,
A VSD most assuredly:
But this ventricular septal defect
Is coupled with infundibular stenosis,
An over-riding aorta,
And right ventricular hypertrophy.
It takes an echo to follow the flow of Fallot.

Leaning in, I listen.
The whirr-buzz sounds in my ears,
Repeated ad infinitum from the bush.
I scan the wood, raise twin prisms,
Peer toward the sound.
A blue-winged warbler
Drops off a high branch,
Disappears behind spring leaves.
Momentarily I catch
His sine qua non:
The black eye streak;
The whirr-buzz echo
Of his call.

2017©Brian T. Maurer

Leave a Reply

